Quick Facts

Horned Frogs Athletics


  • TCU is in its third season as a member of the Big 12 Conference.
  • Thirteen of TCU’s 20 sports were represented by either teams or individuals in NCAA postseason play in 2013-14.
  • TCU’s intercollegiate athletics program will grow to 21 sports in 2014-15 with the addition of sand volleyball.
  • The TCU football team’s history and tradition includes a pair of national championships (1935 and 1938) and a Heisman Trophy winner (Davey O’Brien, 1938).
  • The Horned Frogs also played in two BCS games over the last five seasons, including winning the 2011 Rose Bowl.
  • A rebuilt Amon G. Carter Stadium was opened in 2012 after a $164 million makeover.
  • Daniel-Meyer Coliseum, TCU’s longtime basketball home, is currently in the midst of a $59 million renovation.
  • TCU football has finished in the top 25 in six of the last nine seasons.
  • Seventeen former Horned Frogs are active in the National Football League.
  • Women’s basketball has reached postseason play in 12 of the last 14 seasons.
  • Men’s golfer Julien Brun won the 2014 Big 12 championship and was one of three finalists for the 2013 Ben Hogan Award, presented to the nation’s top collegiate golfer.
  • Men’s golf has advanced to the NCAA Regionals 25 straight seasons, while the women’s golf program has been represented by either its team or individuals the last 19 years.
  • Women’s track and field standout Lorraine Ugen won the NCAA national title in the long jump at the 2013 Outdoor and 2014 Indoor championships.
  • TCU rifle has been the NCAA national champion in two of the last five years.
  • Ten current and former student-athletes and coaches represented TCU in the 2012 London Olympics.

Point of pride:

Horned Frog baseball, which won the 2014 Big 12 championship, is one of 10 programs nationally to reach the College World Series at least twice in the last five seasons.